Reasonable Price for Transmission Rebuild?

Notoriou$

LVC Member
Reaction score
OK. I expect to get some sh!t cuz I'm a noob, but this is a serious question. What is a reasonable price to pay for a rebuilt transmission. I have a 93 Mark VIII with a 4.6.

2K is about the going rate for a rebuild at trans shops.

Throw that 93 trans in the trash and get a good used 98 Mark VIII trans.

The receipt that came with mine showed $1700. When I had the transmission done in my Mustang I bought the parts (heavy duty) then had a transmission guy I know do it for $400 in labor, but that was years ago.

Throw that 93 trans in the trash and get a good used 98 Mark VIII trans.

Thats an option right now. I'm lookin into another car that I found randomly and waiting to hear from the owner about selling or parting it out.

Also, what are the places (large chains) that I need to stay away from for a rebuild? Would it be something to take to Ford (even tho i know they'll charge out the a$$)?

get ahold of
darrin at bc automotive
or
lonnie at blue oval chips

everything about the 93-97 trans is crap I even read you shouldnt reuse the case... get a 98 trans and have that rebuilt then swap it in when you are ready.

You could also try your local community college auto program. They will often do jobs at steeply discounted rates.

Also, what are the places (large chains) that I need to stay away from for a rebuild? Would it be something to take to Ford (even tho i know they'll charge out the a$$)?

I'd stay away from all national chains. I'm sure Ford would do fine, but I sure wouldn't pay them to do it. Find some local car guys and/or a local car related forum and ask them who does good work in your area.