DIY Transmission Full Fluid Exchange (Flush)

M4rk

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
Since my 2003 LS V8 is over 10 years old with nearly 100k miles (160k km) on the clock, I decided to finally change my transmission fluid and filter. It's well known that dropping the pan only yields about 5qt of fluid, which is barely half of the full system capacity. To change all of the fluid (well, as much as possible), a full fluid exchange needs to be performed. As I do not trust the local Ford dealers, nor any mechanic, I decided to DIY this, especially in order to avoid having the car hooked up to a machine that forces the fluid through the system.

There is a great wealth of information online on how to DIY this, which will also apply to the LS as the basic procedure doesn't change. For that reason, this writeup is meant as a guideline-only, not a comprehensive DIY.

Here are some of the resources I studied before tackling this project:

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77507
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/2nd-gen-tacomas/68462-diy-full-flush-automatic-transmission.html
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/107-camry-solara-lounge/141381-diy-flush-transmission-fluid.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsdPAadc9fY

LS Service Manual: http://deneau.info/ls/ (includes all the procedures for dropping the pan, torque values, etc - courtesy of Owlman)

I did not take any pictures during the process.. who's got time for that? I unfortunately didn't. Do this at your own risk! It's not my fault if your transmission blows up :shifty:

Parts List:
15qt Mercon V (only ended up using 12.5qt) - $100 (dealer)
1 pan gasket (mine had a slight leak in two areas, but I suspect the bolts were simply loose - why risk it?) - $25 (dealer)
1 Motorcraft FT-142 filter - $20 (RockAuto)
1 fluid pump - $12 (Local store)
Hoses, fitting, tons towels, cardboard, gloves

Total cost: $160 (rounded)

Approx cost at dealer:
$199 for pan drop, filter and gasket change
$250 for flush

Note: