achesonm8

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I inherited my father's 1993 Mk8. I looked at it with him in 1993 and for the last eight years or so would chaffeur him on my many visits from Charlotte, NC (CLT) to Kansas City (MCI) where he lived. After much soul searching I decided to keep the car and it is now my daily driver. He kept it well maintained over the yrs and being an engineer by profession retained all the records and correspondence he had with Ford. He didn't want to replace the ac compressor, 18 months ago because he wasn't driving it. I started driving the car in Feb of this year when it had 196K miles on it. After my father's passing in March I took ownership and have done the following: New AC compressor, new tires Goodyear Eagle GT's, new front diff mounts and rear diff mounts, new tranny mount, new front radial arm bushings and alignment. I have purchased new motor mounts also but have not had them replaced yet. I have discovered Pull-A-Part, :D, and have visited 3 or 4 Mk8's destined for the scrapyard to remove parts. Front Bumpers off of two, because the original is not complete underneath. I have also scavenged headlamps and sidelamps as I have the notorious extreme yellowing/blind as a bat problem....I plan to keep the air suspension system for now. But it does appear to have leaking lines or bags in the front. After ignition off it takes several hours 5-8? and the front end droops to "slammed Position". At anyrate i have been searching and reading on this forum and the Mark 8 org forum and am learning a lot..I look forward to reading posts about this car and hopefully I can get some help here as i am really a noobie to all this. Thanks!

Scott

Hi All,