Installed Chip Car Don't Start

281DOHC

LVC Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie I don't know if I should post here or not? But any ways I just Received my Lincoln Sport Chip code# dza1 for my 1995 Mark VIII, I cleaned the connector very good in till it was coper color. My Mark VIII won't start when the chip is installed. I Sent it back the same day I hope the Chip is defected because I hate to hear that its my car I will like to have the chip installed, any body have had this problem? Our some thing close to this problem thanks for your input!

I had that problem. It turned out that even though I THOUGHT I had it clean I didn't get everything. YOu really have to scrub hard.

Issue with a Diablo Chip in my wife's stang - 2 chips and refund later the Super chip worked perfect first time in.

I would only use LMS chip in my Mark - personal preference based on feedback seen in LVC.

If Lincoln Motor Sports send me another chip and if it don't work can i have the car dyno tuned? Our should I order one from Super Coupe Performance?
Thanks for your help.:confused:

I also have a '95 with the DZA1 computer, and I bought an LMS chip about a month ago.

I cleaned the contacts per the instructions and installed it. The car fired right up, but I noticed no difference at all. I called Geno, and he said to clean the contacts until the copper traces underneath the solder are completely exposed, and to disconnect the battery for 30 minutes as well. Sure enough, that did the trick!

I had left the panel mounting bolts loose, so a few days later I went back to make sure everything was routed properly and snugged down. In doing so I jostled the computer a little, and it went back to acting like the chip wasn't there. I took the computer back out and noticed the contacts had tiny scratch marks in them, so I used toothpaste to polish them until they were perfectly shiny. Then I cleaned the connector 5 times with rubbing alcohol to make sure every molecule of residue was gone.