New project (Barn yard find)

UltimateSVT

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
Miami, FL(Home of the rust free MARK VIII's
Ok guys I need help from more experienced hands. I just got this 2000 Mustang GT & believe it or not I bought it for $1,500 with a blown motor. The body is straight as an arrow. Wheels are insane. They are 18x10's front & rear on 1.5 inch spacers. It has over $2,200 in performance suspension parts & wheels alone. It's a 2 owner car with no accidents. We want to install a Mark VIII motor in this puppy & create a Cobra clone with the right heart but I've never done a full swap before. We don't just want a cloned shell with a SOHC, we want a nice DOHC in there. Ok, back to the Mark motor thing... I know the Gen 1 motors have a bit more power but I think I'd be more satisfied installing a Gen 2 motor.

What do I need to do first? I'd like to find a nice motor with no more than 110k. Nothing too high. Something I know I can install & not have to worry much about. I'm assuming I should also get the ECU from the same Mark? Anyone feel free to chime in. This is a slow project for the next 8-12 months.

30f911d8-9150-41b4-836a-4cc3cb3a3a72_zps9c4ec7c3.jpg

bba620b1-605e-40c3-b30e-14fac3191ef1_zps6cb3561c.jpg

95bf4de6-65e6-49b6-b0b8-3928e474c000_zps54f332c6.jpg

380a8249-9e58-4750-905d-c4f24c4c515d_zpsb09c6735.jpg

0989df83-593c-4fa1-915c-a5966346b8a3_zpsc83d2bdd.jpg

d61ce1ea-f1b2-47be-b57d-f73baa58d8e6_zpscec65f00.jpg

i would be reading on the mustang boards. the GT guys do this occasionally with the mark motor to build cobra clones.

looks like there is a lot missing from that engine bay. i'd be watching the yards for a complete car to come in, then look for whatever you don't have.

I'd just use the Mustang ECM.....

Grab some Cobra manifolds, might even be able to use the existing H pipe.

Going to need a 6 bolt flywheel if manual.