2 piece Driveshaft options? (Welding?¿)

SleeperMark

Well-Known LVC Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, my driveshaft has been making quite a bit of vibration after I changed my gears. Starts at about 60 and gets worse with speed. I ordered a 93 shaft assuming they were all 1 piece shafts just to read directly after ordering that most are also a 2 piece. It should be here tomorrow but I am assuming the worst. What are my options from here? I just coughed up 100$ for (possibly) another 2 piece pos. has anyone tried welding the 2 together and getting it re balanced? I have seen talk about it but no experience. Thanks in advance.

I'm not experienced enough on here to answer that, so hopefully someone can...

Worst case man, lemme know. I know of an early 93 shaft local to me, could probably be had cheap

If this is a 2 piece ill probably take you up on that. I need to do something fast tho.

Davidm, I really hope so. I'm just scared now that I have heard. There were a few cases where it was a 93 made in 11/92 and it was a 2

If it was an 11/92.... its definitely a 1pc. My mark was made in the first half of 93 and its got a 1pc.

That makes me feel better. Maybe people assume the make date to be the year of the vehicle? If that's the case an 11/93 would be a 94. Mine is a 10/94 and its a 95. Confusing stuff. I guess we'll just see what shows up tomorrow and go from there. Ill keep you posted..

I talk to the performance drive line shop in my area, shouldn't be a problem to weld and balance. They do it all the time. They told me it will hold up to 500hp & 160mph with out vibration.

I went the easy route with a 93 shaft. The original 96 shaft is now residing in my SVO, tho a bit shorter and now one piece.

I got the same vibration, but I'm having a hard time finding a 93 shaft I want to pay for.

Bob, What did it cost to cut/weld/balance?