Installed Amsoil conical pics

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would imagine any metal shop could make them easily, or you could buy one for a stang and modify it. Personally, Mine is one of Geno's ice boxes.

I do know the shield makes a temperature difference when the car is standing still. I have used a laser thermometer. I dont remember the specifics but the temp is a bit lower. I assume it gets lower yet when the car is moving.

Another reason, I believe, to shield it, is to help control air flow. The air is more calm beyond the shield, thus its easier to suck that air into the filter. Outside the filter you have alot of air movement from the fan, air being pushed through the radiator, etc..

Yes I have been running sheildless for almost 10 years now. I always sell out of them before I grab one. When we tested these we did see a decent gain but I could care less to be honest, the small gain I saw wasn't impressive enough for me to take one from a potential customer.

Then what the hell was the point of your original post? Just for the sake of argument? Some of the people on this board really confound all reason sometimes.

Then what the hell was the point of your original post? Just for the sake of argument? Some of the people on this board really confound all reason sometimes.

What are you talking about?
I didnt mention anything except a counter to your claim that the car will run funny and all if unsheilded.

I never once said that sheilded wasn't better, hell why would I have the Icebox on our site for years now if I didnt?

Relax a bit and have a drink or something.....goodness.

Your reading comprehension sucks. Please quote the post where I said the car will run funny.

I said that the MAF transfer function is affected by turbulence from the engine fan, and that the filter should be shielded from it. I love it how everybody reads one things and understands something else on this board.

Paul.