You guy will love this!

NateRW21

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
So driving my LS to work Friday, it went into forced idle: ETC engine failure. So I had it towed to the Lincoln Dealership here in Lansing as my code reader will not read the new CAN systems. Well, sure enough; comes back as the throttle body. But here's the kicker; they tried telling me that it was caused by my K&N CAI! I opted not to argue the fact, but their explanation was that the increased air intake cause the throttle body to fail. I used to be a mechanic and actually have ASE certs, but arguing wouldn't get my anywhere, so I just asked "how much?" He comes back with around $650; I ask how much of that is labor and he says $350!!! I'm not really sure where he's getting his figures from because I know for a fact that doesn't book at 4-5 hours. Either way, looks like I'm having it towed home (insurance covered the first tow) and doing the work myself! I just thought some of you might think this funny!

Oh, almost forgot... The funny thing is, no MAF related codes; if you're going to blame something on a CAI with oiled filter, MAF is the best you can do; not TB

The tech says "these engines, running this new engine management can't accept any changes at all" I didn't say it, but I was sure thinking, "then why is it the 05+ mustang works so well with mods?"

And to boot... The tech saw my C.A.R.B sticker for the K&N and asked if that was an identification of a custom tune!! What kind of tech doesn't know what a C.A.R.B. Expemption sticker is?!?!?!

Amazing....

worse yet - most of the time it's not the TB - but a misfire on coil #4 the messes with the drive-by-wire and throws this situation into a spin - several LS owners have been down this exact path....

I recommend you contact K&N. They love to handle this kind of crap from dealers. They will get the bad part and test it at no cost to you and then make an example out of the stupid dealership.