Wife wrecked my 1998 mark VIII, what airbags parts do I replace?

humfrydog11

LVC Member
Reaction score
OK first off yes I am a newbie and yes I tried searching first. I found multiple threads with multiple answers that only confused me more. So lets start fresh ok.
My wife rear ended a truck because she always follows too close......
Both drivers and passengers airbag deployed, she was driver no passenger.
I was able to remove the hood, cut off old airbags with razor blade and drive the car home.

I have rounded up the following parts: drivers airbag, passenger airbag, clock spring with harness and attaching black module on column and blue module behind radio.

Do i need sensors mounted on uprights behind grill fwd of radiator?
Do i need to replace part or all of drivers and or passenger seat belts?
Do i need to clear codes or antyhting special prior to turning key after installing airbags and modules?

I will have battery disconnected for parts install and will be wearing rubber gloves to avoid static electricity. Also I will be pulling my dash out to do passenger airbag and yet another blend air door, such is life. I just want to make sure I do this right and don't deploy my my new airbags or forget to replace a part I should have. I have the body work nearly finished, just minor details so now its time for air bags. All help appreciated thank you.

OK first off yes I am a newbie and yes I tried searching first. I found multiple threads with multiple answers that only confused me more. So lets start fresh ok.
I was able to remove the hood, cut off old airbags with razor blade and drive the car home.

I have rounded up the following parts: drivers airbag, passenger airbag, clock spring with harness and attaching black module on column and blue module behind radio.

Do i need to clear codes or antyhting special prior to turning key after installing airbags and modules?