where to get jmod done ??

gbal4

LVC Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I am new in the mark viii world and I have been hearing about the jmod can I go to a transmission shop to get it done ?? I would like to get a firm shifting from the transmission. And also I would like to get quicker off the line but not hurt my top end will 410 gears be okay ??

A transmission shop can do the J-Mod.
But they can also just install a shift-kit which I would suggest you do if having it done.

And 4.10 gears will reduce your top end. That's unavoidable.
The question is, how badly are you willing to hurt the top end? What kind of driving will you be doing? What are your priorities?

You probably have 3.08 gears in there right now. Maybe a 3.27.

I have had a J-Mod transmission for about a year. No problems. All shifts are solid, no lag at all. I also had a transmission cooler put in. Keep the transmission fluid clean, Mercon V and keep it cool and the transmission should last through many beatings at the track.
Here is a link that may help you calculate how much the different gear ratios and tire sizes will impact your performance.
http://www.paladinmicro.com/PalMFrame00.htm?wks=spd
Good luck and have fun!

You should also plan on replacing your drive shaft with a new one due to vibration issues when going to taller gears. A tail shaft lube package won't hurt either if you do a lot of high speed driving as well as a transmission cooler. The J Mod can be performed by yourself if you posses some mechanical skills and tools and there are also shift kits from Bauman Performance that you can install as well. If you have a Gen 1 you will also need an appropriate speed sensing gear for the tranny.