Truth about stereo installs in a Mark

Car Audio & Car Electronic

  1. Jibit

    Jibit Dearly Departed Friend

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Villa Park, IL
    I've heard so many stories that I'm not sure what to believe anymore. I know on my Mark VII I was able to use a harness and bypass the amplifier. In my Mark VIII I was told that I couldn't do this so I ran my own wires everywhere. I guess in the long run this will help when I build a better system but now I hear you can bypass the amplifier like in the Mark VII. What's the truth and where did you guys get your harnesses from? I need to do an install for my brother-in-law but would rather not spend all day running wires throughout the entire car.
     
  2. Joeychgo

    Joeychgo Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,451
    Likes Received:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    being one who maintains my mark stock - I never have changed my stereo. However, I was told it was simply a harness that had to be attached to change stereos.
     
  3. ralph

    ralph burn

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    battle creek
    On my brothers car we just bought a harness that bypassed the stock amp. I cant remember where we got it
     
  4. Joeychgo

    Joeychgo Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,451
    Likes Received:
    671
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I think they are a pretty common harnass -- any car stero place on the net should have them, or even best buy if you need it fast.
     
  5. Jibit

    Jibit Dearly Departed Friend

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Villa Park, IL
    I tried going to best buy but they dont have the harness, at least not one for sale. Maybe they just want me to bring it there so they can install it.
     
  6. 1wykdmk8

    1wykdmk8 LvC Dues Collector

    Messages:
    3,767
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Here is the connector you are lookin for.....I am pretty sure. It is for the Ford Premium/JBL sound system.
     
  7. Jibit

    Jibit Dearly Departed Friend

    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Villa Park, IL
    I didn't realize the same jumper was used on the Mark VII as in the VIII. I'm surprised crutchfield didn't know that. They sold me the kit for the VII. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. 1wykdmk8

    1wykdmk8 LvC Dues Collector

    Messages:
    3,767
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Not a prob.....I hope it works for ya.
     
  9. pilolli

    pilolli LVC Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    houston tx
    adaptor

    all you need is a rca adaptor specker wires goes in rca's come out
     
  10. Sifrino3

    Sifrino3 Dedicated LVC Member

    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Location:
    Prescott Valley, Arizona
    I installed one Sony unit in my 90. In which I did not have to bypass the amp. Which was great. But when I installed a new Sony unit. I HAD to bypass the amp. What a bunch of biatches!
     
  11. Punisher

    Punisher Active LVC Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Davenport,IA
    I got a amp bypass in my mark VIII and it looks nothing like what ya got pictured there. I got mine from crutchfield. I also used to have a mark VII and it did look like the 1 pictured but I dont think that will work for the VIII. The bypass needs to be run to the amp to the deck, because the tweeters in the mark have a crossover in the amp I believe and if you dont run the bypass from amp to deck, tweeters will get bass to them and will blow. This is what I was told at least, I no longer use the by pass because I ran a totally aftermarket stereo, all new mids/highs, amps, deck, subs ect...

    If interested ill sell ya the bypass kit. Being I dont use it anymore no reason to have it, I know they were expensive when I got mine. So I just paid the premium and ordered the deck from crutchfield (it was free with deck purchase).
     
  12. groove

    groove Guest

    I installed a new Kenwood HD head unit, used the Scoche FDK4B connector and now I'm getting crackling and popping from the speakers; even once the amp/HU went into "Protect" mode which means there is a short. From what I've read the Scosche is self grounding when using the factory connectors to the scosche plugs? Can anyone confirm this or tell me if I've missed something? All 6 speakers work but it sounds like the rear spear on the right side is the one crackling and popping.
     
  13. ford nut

    ford nut Local nut case

    Messages:
    5,660
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Farmington
    Speakers are shot, this thread is from 2004.
    Your car is old.
    Gut and wire the whole thing buy some new speakers.

    People posting in this thread will never respond, there not with us anymore.:eyeroll:
     

Share This Page