Mark 8 Maintenace Solutions,Recommendations, and Questions

Merk1n_Season

Well-Known LVC Member
Reaction score
I made this thread specifically for maintenace solutions and recommendations to the mark 8 since im new to it all. Info about product quality and experience with the product would be greatly appreciated.:rolleyes:

We have an entire section that covers this,

Welcome to LVC :)

My first question is. My car has 108,000 miles on it since i got about a month ago. I saw this tune up kit on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/TUNE-UP-SET...n|Model:Mark+VIII&hash=item27c7430f42&vxp=mtr. It includes a PCV valve in the kit. How often is PCV valve suppose to be replaced ? Second questions is should i change the valve cover gaskets at the same time im doing coils and plugs. Usually at around what mileage does the valve cover gaskets need to be replaced.

Spark plug seals, but they're part of the gasket kit for the valve covers. Or a dead engine, I guess. Or a lawn knome screwing with you. It'd be cool if it was anything else, huh? Although, sparkly valve covers are a definite plus. Okay. I'm done. :shifty: :D

If you're comfortable with loosening the motor mounts and lifting the engine about 1 1/2 inches, not so much. There's quite a little passle of things to undo on the driver's side, but apparently lifting the engine does away with some of them. Patience is the key here, but powder-coated or cerma-chromed covers are worth it in my book. I'll be getting mine done in the next two weeks.

You should replace gaskets and seals as often as you want them to not leak anymore, changing them before they leak is almost unheard of

thanks guys and hot*mk8 post pics here of these sparkly valve covers when you get them done lol