Idle problems. Help!!!!!!

surfaaron

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
I drove to work today which takes about 15 minutes on the highway and when I got here and put my car into park the idle was surging from about 700 rpm to 1200 and back. Then it would go even lower and almost die. It has happened a couple of days in a row know. When I go out to start it again it runs fine. The problems seems to be happening more frequently know. Also it was doing it the other day when it was in drive which caused the car to want to surge forward. Where should I start. My car is a 87 mark lsc. I would really appreciate any help. Remeber I am still a newbie so please give it to me in newbie english. Thanks. :mad: :Bang :slam

Its a pretty normall thing. The ideling thing that is. There is a few things you can do to help it. So, its not as bad. I can't remember the links, though. . .

Check the PCV valve and screen. Clean and/or replace the IAC motor. Check vacuum lines for any cracks/leaks.

NYC LSC said:
Check the PCV valve and screen. Clean and/or replace the IAC motor. Check vacuum lines for any cracks/leaks.

What is the IAC motor and where would I find it. Sorry for the dumb questions but I am still learning.

After checking for the previously mentioned mechanical items, get some SeaFoam treatment and run through the air induction system.

Does this only occur with the AC on? You may want to check for codes. This might pinpoint a dirty/malfunctioning EGR or other problem. You might also want to make sure that you're idle is set properly and the TPS voltage is ~.99mV.

JoshMcMadMac said:
Does this only occur with the AC on? You may want to check for codes. This might pinpoint a dirty/malfunctioning EGR or other problem. You might also want to make sure that you're idle is set properly and the TPS voltage is ~.99mV.