How the F do you guys remove the oil filter

rsimmons1

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
It's on there good and my hand doesn't fit in there. Can't get any leverage. Call me a noob/idiot w/e but this is my first time ever changing oil myself and I was under the impression these things just twisted off.

It's on there good and my hand doesn't fit in there. Can't get any leverage. Call me a noob/idiot w/e but this is my first time ever changing oil myself and I was under the impression these things just twisted off.

If a conventional filter removal tool doesn't work drive a screwdriver through the filter and twist. To prevent future problems I use a K&N filter.

Do not use the filter wrench to put it back on.

Do you have a buddy that can help...if you don't do a few things right you may have a mess on your hands.

Very carefully and usually with my hands, nah who am I kidding oil changes are the only I don't do myself, cost 2 times as much as the local dealer I used to work at charges. Other wise I would. However when I was an oil changer there some time ago we always used filter wrenches to take off. Also a rag soaked in brake cleaner gets a good grip. Just make sure the gasket comes off with the filter or you will has less than desirable results.

One of these guys. If I remember correctly it is type B.

OTC_6901_GM_Oil_FIlter_Wrench.jpg

Alright well this is going to be an expensive oil change. I'll just pour the new oil in, go to autozone for the tool + 7 more quarts of oil, drive home and re-do it. I wish Hercules didn't install this one damnit.

I'll definitely be getting one of those, thanks.