door ajar light comes on but door shut

busterdowns

LVC Member
Reaction score
i have 95 non lsc. it was hit in the drivers side door by a motorcycle a few years back before i got it. the person who owned it had the door replaced on it. now the door ajar warning comes on all the time. i have no idea what it could be. im still learning about this car. any help would be great.

Wd40 the latch and work it in by opening and closing the door a couple of times

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum. I hope you're around for many years with us. Just remember. Most of us on her are been there done that with just about every problem you are about to encounter. You this forum a refrence tool, the answer is in here some where.

My method for clearing that dang Door Adjar message is to take the WD-40 and be generous with it. Then open and close the door about twenty times. That should do the trick. You may on occasion see that the interior light stays on after you exit the vehicle. This is the same case.

With my red garnett 95. The wd-40 trick would not work. So I got in the door and merely unhooked the switch this kept the message off the display center.

I do not have this problem but with the WD40 does it not really wash out all the lube in there? I would think that yes it is a lube but needs to be maintained afterwards with something like a spray lithium or graphite grease?

I agree, WD40 works great to penetrate so to speak and creep into those spots to free things up but I find for long lasting to spray something else after you free it up.

Wd40 the latch and work it in by opening and closing the door a couple of times

im not talkin smak at all but what does the latch have to do with it. dose it have a sensor in it? and thanks for all the help i will deff use the search.

i used a ton of the wd it still does it so guess im needin a new latch.
you also have to slam the piss outta it a few dozen times while reapplying the wd