Does the LS have forged internals?

Niteryder

New LVC Member
Reaction score
I'm a noob here and to the Lincoln, but I was wondering if the 2000-2002 LSs have forged internals? If not, how about the 2003+ ones? I did not find much here when I did a search, but I'll keep looking. Thanks.

Jes

I do not believe so - although I have not seen the bottom have of one open - but in ageneral sense the OEs do not place forged internals in an engine of 252 (280 in 03) and was already at 238cubic inches.... (so there is not alot of room left)

the v6 has forged pistons and rods

for the V8, you could get yourself a Performance Automotive Warehouse book and the factory specs for the rods, try to find one that is pretty close, then have a machine shop do the required machining to get them to spec (thickness, off-set grind, etc) That's not all that uncommon in the performance engine building world.

Pistons... there's a number of companies out there that will manufacture slugs to your required dimensions.

The biggest issue you'll run into is the crank and that's the real sticking point. It gets REALLY pricey to have custom cranks made I don't know the journal sizes or anything, so it's hard to say how much a stock crank can handle. But given the size of the engine... I think you'd be seriously pushing it with 400 BHP.

And of course we haven't even dipped into the issue of mains caps. Aluminum block not designed to handle large HP figures. Really it's hard to tell without having one tore down.

Then after all that is said and done, for NA applications, the intake would never suffice; sheetmetal with turbos or a roots type blower would be the best choice. And of course headers would be a problem... Not to mention injectors big enough to supply the monster.

But, if you'd like to send me a 3.9L that I can play with, I'm all game!!! :D