Crown Vic P71 V Lincoln Town Car

Dondo5853

New LVC Member
Reaction score
I have been driving a 97 Ford CV P71, police model for 8 years now,,, and want a better ride, I know the CV and the TC are brother in many ways,, same engine, trans, axels ! But do any of you know if its possible to take the running computer , or the engine management system , from the p71 Crown Vic, and install it into the Town car ? of cause I would be using the same model year of the 2 cars ! But it would give a little more horsepower to the Town Car, and would take away the speed limiter ,, and let it idle slightly higher in the RPM range !!

I would wager that while the powertrain is the same, the connections to other systems are different enough that you couldn't just swap the two engine computers.

For a couple hundred dollars you should be able to chip the Town Car to provide the same advantages as a P71 ECU. If you went with a 1998+ model you could use a handheld programmer to do it; I got mine new in box for $99. Look for a Cartier model TC because it'll come with better exhaust (depending on year) and a locking diff standard. A 98 Town Car Touring is also a nice choice, though more rare. Of course 2001+ models mean the PI engine with much more potential.

Exhaust is a real choke point on these cars, I can tell a big difference between my 01 single exhaust vs. my friends 99 duel. That would be my first starting point if I wanted to get a little more out of my LTC.

I was think of getting a 2007 to a 2010 TC, and I would like the Cartier model ! If it didn't come with duel exhaust already that would be my first upgrade ! I saw a TC a few years ago, the newer body style, and the owner had installed a set of 1 1/2 inch wheel spacers,, with a set of wire wheels,, and what a difference in the look and the stance ! I was struck with the look !