CD Player Won't Operate/Eject CD's - 2006 LS w/Nav.

Reaper

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
After doing a bit of searching, I found a couple threads regarding malfunction of the navigation CD player, but no guaranteed fix (unless I missed something). Most of the threads were a bit dated as well. My current situation is I simply went to change from one CD to another and nothing happened. This was random, as I was driving down the road. I've read that sometimes burned CD's can possibly present an issue, but I've been using burned CD's in the car since I purchased it three years ago with no problems. Wondering if anyone has any tips as to removing the head unit, or getting it to work with a simple fix? I'm hoping that I don't have to take it into the dealer, but will if that's the last option. The only thing I've tried is disconnecting the battery for a couple minutes in attempt to reset the system... with no luck. Any input is appreciated.

Well, this may not help you, but here's what mine did.
There's a flat-flex cable that connects the changer to the rest of the head-unit. Mine had a sticky label on the cable right where it was next to a moving part of the changer. The cable stuck to the moving part and one day when it went to change CDs, it pulled the cable out. The result was that the CDs and the changer no longer worked. It was easy to fix. Just remove the nav/climate assembly. The nav head is sort of in two parts, and the top part is the changer. Open the covers on that and plug the cable back in (clean the glue off so that it won't happen again).
If this is not your problem, I do have a working changer from a nav unit (well, it worked when it was removed a few years ago).

Thanks for the advice joegr. i'll give that a try tonight. just need to figure out how to remove the nav/climate assembly now. :-S

I may hit you up about the changer if I can't resolve the issue.