Bleeding Cooling system

jdelarmente

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
Delano(Home of Record) Im in the military
I have 2000 Lincoln LS V8 and its being a pain because im trying to bleed the cooling system becuase the water outlet that connects to the cylinder heads cracked. Its fixed but now trying to bleed the cooling system is a pain. I am stuck were you let it idle with the heater bleeder valve open becuase i let it idle for 30 mins and i still got no steady stream of coolant. Also when it says "4. Add coolant to the degas bottle allowing the system to equalize until no more coolant can be added" so does it mean keep it at the fill mark or fill up the degas bottle. Thanks in advance so plz let me know if you have bleed your cooling system and clarify these instructions. Im a Mechanic in the Air Force and ive ran into so many different meaning of when it says "until no more can be added" sometimes it means to completely fill the container and others mean to the max mark.

Just keep filling it until you get a dripping/streaming of coolant out of the bleeder hose. (you may need to get the RPMs around 2500)

My bleed hose was clogged with gunk/buildup preventing any coolant to come out and indicate air escaping. So I had air trapped.

Try pulling the bleeder hose off the metal pipe outlet behind the engine, see if coolant is coming out of there, if it is - then your bleeder hose is clogged.

Well i get coolant coming out and i can see air coming out but 30mins seems long to bleed it. I just cant get a steady stream to come out like the instructions say. Ill go out and try it again im just fustrated becuase i have to go back home to CA to drop the car of because im getting stationed in Japan and im driving from Oklahoma and i fixed everything then this happened and now bleeding it is becoming a pain and i want to just take it to the dealer.