2004 Lincoln LS (3.9 Liter v8) ETC Failsafe Mode.

McBeetus

LVC Member
Reaction score
I have a 2004 Lincoln LS 3.9 L V8 with just over 150,000 miles on it. Have been experiencing random occurances of engine entering ETC Failsafe mode over the course of a month, which just hit maximum and occurs every time i try to drive it now. Used to be a turn off ignition and restart fix. It spat codes P2110 (Throttle Actuator Control System Forced, Limited RPM) and P2107 (Throttle Actuator Control Module Processor). I replaced the throttle body completely. Performed the engine relearn procedure, reset the ecm and let car idle for about 20 minutes. Sounded good, started off for a test drive, and ETC failsafe kicked on again before getting 100 yards from my house. Same codes. Rough idle upon startup. Does this sound like a spark plug /coil on plug issue to anyone else. If not, appreciate any advice.

Im not a professional mechanic, and can give any other info with a code reader and/or multimeter if instructed on what to do.

To note. I recently replaced the coolant expansion tank a few months ago, the radiayor 6 months prior to that. Have experienced no heating issues.

Also, am planning on replacing the front axle soon

20180617_142452.jpg

20180617_142446.jpg

So, new coil on plugs should be the fix for this?

90% of the time.

Need to be new Motorcraft (not "equivalent" from ebay), about $50 each
Need to change the spark plugs at the same time. NGK best, Bosch worst.
Make sure every plug has the gap set to exactly 1.0mm. Use gap adjust tool, be careful when measuring.

Are you using a scan tool that will pick up all Ford codes, and not just engine codes?

~ Replaced the throttle body completely.
~ Performed the engine relearn procedure.
~ Reset the ecm.

~ Also, am planning on replacing the front axle soon

Stop it, you're killing me here!