V6 owner question

eL eS

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
Any V6 owners here perform the valve cover gasket job more specifically the Right hand, passenger side, valve cover gasket?

I am looking at the prospect of doing this myself but cannot find the full details on alldata.com. It seems their instructions for the RH VC gasket removal seem too easy. IIRC some folks have stated that much of the intake has to come off.

Can anyone add to this. I am ready to do the work and after this christmas and 3 hurricanes I could use an opportunity to save some $ and really need a distratcion.

no worries it is good to know folks are looking out for me. I may just have to just shoot this thing in the dark and see what I hit. I might as well take some digital photos along the way for the next guy.

Hey I see you are a Jax, Florida driver you in the Navy? I know it is a big Navy town Air/Sea. I live over in Tampa and an ex-squid.

Nope, not in the navy. I'm a student. I think I read somewhere that the intake does have to be taken of though. Not sure, but even if it's not required, it'll make it easier because you will have more room.

You in college? what's the major, please be automotive, man the industry could use some folks that have some practical experience.

I think the alldata.com website on documented the valave cover steps. I think i will check the step for intake removal. that should get me where I need to go.

Thanks for the follow up. That link you gave me helped another guy out. He says thanks

Finishing up high school (3 months left). Looking at aeronautical engineering at UT Austin. I'm hoping some of the stuff I learn will carry over to cars. And you're definitely correct about needing people in the car industry with experience. Especially for the seemingly unmodifiable LS.

wow! well go get em' aeronautical is great. any aspirations to fly? FLY NAVY!