Transmission Issues

I am an amateur mechanic at best, but I would be willing to give the rebuild a shot. I

Then you would quickly be in over your head. Sorry.

Just the specialty tools needed to rebuild it will probably cost $500... if not more.

Heck... I'll admit it. Anymore I'd probably be in over my head.

As a "best suggestion" ... find a local "Vo-tech" high school or college that teaches auto repair.

They may be willing to do the work.

Just the specialty tools needed to rebuild it will probably cost $500... if not more.

As a "best suggestion" ... find a local "Vo-tech" high school or college that teaches auto repair.

I will see if there are any in my area and continue to update as the situation progresses.

Does it also stall when shifting to Reverse from Park or Neutral? How old is the battery?

-Rod

Forget rebuilding it yourself. With those miles the servo bores are worn at this point. I would ONLY get a re manufactured transmission from somebody that understands what this transmission needs. Be sure they sleeve the bores and understand why and what that is about BEFORE you let them do anything.

I also would forget getting a used unit. There is a lot of work and cost in swapping the transmission and refilling it with with fluid. You DO NOT want to go thru that more than once!!! Since this is a VERY common transmission there is no reason to get a used one.

All the problems of the 5R55N have long since been figured out so take advantage of that knowledge when you replace yours.

Forget rebuilding it yourself. With those miles the servo bores are worn at this point. I would ONLY get a re manufactured transmission from somebody that understands what this transmission needs. Be sure they sleeve the bores and understand why and what that is about BEFORE you let them do anything.