Transmission Fluid Flush, is this possible??

Yes, it's possible. Some members here have posted about doing it. Search.

While it's possible, you shouldn't do it. If you accidentally let it run dry while doing this (easy to do), you'll do very expensive damage. The charge for a dealer to do this with the correct equipment is well worth it.

Please note that the LS doesn't have a dip stick, so that complicates things. Also, our magnet is in the pan, not on the drain plug.

I did it, although as Joegr mentioned there is not dipstick to refill as you are draining, so I let it run till I saw the fluid slowing down. Cant run it dry. So wound up refilling with 8 quarts, I think dry unit holds 12, so I got most of it and did not run dry. All good.

I'm no trans expert, but I seriously doubt the contention that you can't let the trans run dry for a few seconds. The fluid is there primarily for hydraulic reasons. It also provides a cooling function (that's why it goes through a cooler).

There are no cams, pistons, cranks, etc that require constant and perfect lubrication like an engine has. The gears are big and robust. If the trans required perfect lubrication, we would change the transmission fluid every 3-5000 miles just like an engine.

Run it until it starts to sputter, then shut if off. It's in park while you do this, so how many trans parts can be turning anyway?

I've used this method other vehicles (not an LS) and it works great.

Dale

Dale

I'm no trans expert, but I seriously doubt the contention that you can't let the trans run dry for a few seconds. The fluid is there primarily for hydraulic reasons. It also provides a cooling function (that's why it goes through a cooler).

There are no cams, pistons, cranks, etc that require constant and perfect lubrication like an engine has. The gears are big and robust. If the trans required perfect lubrication, we would change the transmission fluid every 3-5000 miles just like an engine.