Systems

Motts said:
I've been installing for over 5 yrs and have never hooked an amp up through the battery besides the pos +
In which I am actually a certified installer.. I do custom installs, fiberglass, etc... :Beer :Beer

I've been installing for over five years, and have a degree in engineering.
:Beer

yes you can do it.. but you Tend to get engine noise through the speakers, which causes you to have to install a ground loop converter.. I didnt say you were wrong.. its just a pain in the ass.. and the ground wire typically for that size of an amp.. say 500watts shouldnt be longer then 10-12in"..

pour me another one said:
Wow, I hope you're not serious. You do realize that the frame of the car is the same as the battery, polarity wise? The only reason people ground their amps to the metal of the car because its more cost effective then buying 17 ft of ground and running it to the battery. The whole car is "-" negative, thats why they ground it. There is no difference if you run a ground to the battery or to the frame, its the same thing, the frame acts as the ground wire, which is connected to the batterr "-". Have you ever installed an amp in a BMW, where the battery is in the trunk? Theres no difference if you connect it directly to the "-" battery post or screw it in two inches away to the frame. Have you ever worked on older Mercedes that have "common ground" systems? Every negative terminal of the speaker is connected to the frame.

Exactly :Beer

Motts said:
yea just didnt want to see your amp go "Boom" lol wouldnt be a good idea.. what type of amp are you gona be running.. what type of speakers, type of box? what guage wire?
I have two sets of amps/subs. The first set (which I am hoping my brother who is out of the country didn't take) is a 200W RockFos punch amp with 2 12" subs located in a box. The other is just a cheap amp I picked up from a friend at work.......I want to say Lightning audio with a 12" Lightning Audio sub in an enclosure.