Sudden overheaing problem with 2003 Lincoln Ls

Ender570

LVC Member
Reaction score
the other day, my car randomly started to give me the "check engine tempertature" warning after driving for about 5-10 minutes. The fluids levels all seem fine. What are some ways for me to diagnose what could be the cause of this? I'm very new to the world of auto mechanics, so try to keep your description as basic as possible :p

Also, my heat has seemed to stop working ever since this issue arose. Even though the temperature warning is going off, the air coming out of the vents will still be cool (ice cold, actually, since this happened when it was only 10 degrees outside)

Again, any tips on where to start would be greatly appreciated

Ender570....are you saying you have the correct level of fluid in your coolant reservoir? Are you sure?
don-ohio

There are definitely the right amount of fluids in the car. The biggest mystery to me is why my heat would stop working when my car is telling me it's overheating... I let the car idle for about 20 minutes and the gauge never went past the half way point. I put it in drive, drove around the block, and the gauge started to rise almost immediately.

Also, I've noticed it makes a strange sound when I turn it off... my description is probably going to make few of you laugh, but the only way I can describe it is to say it sounds like a spaceship powering down.

There are definitely the right amount of fluids in the car. The biggest mystery to me is why my heat would stop working when my car is telling me it's overheating... I let the car idle for about 20 minutes and the gauge never went past the half way point. I put it in drive, drove around the block, and the gauge started to rise almost immediately.

Also, I've noticed it makes a strange sound when I turn it off... my description is probably going to make few of you laugh, but the only way I can describe it is to say it sounds like a spaceship powering down.