SilverBullet Here - I'm a Kinda Newbie to this "Forum Stuff" ...

SilverBullet

New LVC Member
Reaction score
I have a Silver 2002 LS Sport owned since 2004. First I'll miss Joegr as I've read many of his tips over the years. This is just my first time posting. So I hope I'm doing it correctly. If this is correct, I'll post more about myself another time. Obviously I have loved my car over the years, probably for it's "above average road manners" more than anything I favor but of course as time moves on she's getting a bit "long in tooth" as the saying goes. She has about 95,000 on her so far. I haven't done too much - mostly normal LS issues addressed. Sunroof motor, fuel pump, A/C problems, some door electrics replaced, several window regulators replaced, oil changes every 3-5,000 miles consistently, changed to Powerstop drilled and slotted rotors and pads when the originals gave up the ghost. Also epoxied the calipers (red) at the same time. That was a good move - maintenance wise, they have been bullet proof ever since.
I have all the normal cooling system issues, expansion tank, thermostat, heat exchanger, etc,etc. Also had a few Radio hiccups, replaced the clock spring (that fixed a lot of little things!), had intermittent engine missing (spark plug tubes had oil in them from o-rings leaking) so I changed the cam cover gaskets and o-rings.
That actually brings me to "My Question". I used to race and I do all my own work and I used the FelPro VS50724R kit which was 30 or 40K miles ago but it she's missing again - I think it's the same problem. OEM gasket kit's are NLA. Options are the same FelPro I used before or Mahle VS50397, Victor Reinz 15-10711-01 or an Apex AVC 1141S kit. Any thoughts on which of these gasket sets is the best replacement?
There may already be some earlier answers here in the form that I haven't found yet too! I'll keep looking and I miss you Joegr!
Thanks for any input folks!

Last edited: