rotors getting rusty and corroded

jokken

Well-Known LVC Member
Reaction score
I got a set or drilled and slotted rotors and after a short time the holes and slots were rusted and corroded and filling in with brake dust. The same thing happens to the areas between the front and back surface of the rotor.

I was wondering if it might be a good idea to paint all these areas. I was thinking of black high temperature engine paint. what ever overspray would be rubbed off when braking for the first time.

I am guessing this would probably limit the functionality of the holes and slots and act like a insulator causing the rotor to stay hot. but then again maybe not, if the hi temp paint transfers heat correctly maybe it would act more like a heat dissipater causing negligible difference in temperature

thoughts, ideas?

I am not a brake expert...

Rotors can get really hot. I think you might need a paint more suited to headers. Engine paint is OK but only for a few hundred degrees if I recall. Header paint will handle over 1,000, but it is thin and if I recall flat in color. Even so I kind of doubt that the paint will last.

Rust is a fact of life on brake components due to the tremendous heat cycling and water etc.

From what I have read the holes are really meant to act as a vent for the hot gases that boil off the pads as they are applied. They also help a bit with cooling due to movement. I doubt paint in these areas would hurt much. The rotor itself is a giant heat dissipator, the slots don't dissipate a lot of heat other than by moving thru the air.

Don't do like that ditz several years back did. There was an interesting web posting I think for VW Rabbits where the bozo painted everything on the brake system and was quite proud of it too. Included rotor surfaces, pads, calipers etc. It was beautiful.

Interesting that the slots are filling in with brake dust. I had assumed that with air movement, the dust would be blown out.

Good Luck,

Jim Henderson