Reviving an old idea - Catch Can for the LS

mholhut

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
I gave this some thought back in my days with LLSOC and we tossed it around there with nothing evolving. Seems like a popular accessory for preventative maintenance if not some performance gains so I thought I'd bring it up. By any means, I'm no expert and I'm going to use some laymans terms, so if you have some input, please chime in.

oil_catch_can.jpg

The LS vents compression gasess from the cylinder heads back into the intake tract. I think this is called Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV). This venting is hot oil filled air that gets reingested into the motor. There's some obvious detriments to performance with this... oil buildup in the intake and the fact that your car is reingesting hot air.

If you don't already know, a catch can or con can (short for condensation can) is a canister that separates the oil from the venting gas before returning it to the intake. By placing the catch can out of the engine bay where air can cool it, the hot gas condenses against the cooler can and causes the oil to condense in the container where it can be drained later. Think of as the opposite of a cold bottle of beer on a hot/humid day.

There are two places where the heads vent into the intake. On the driver's side of the car, it vents from the valve cover to the intake snorkel just after the MAF sensor. On the passenger's side, it vents from the valve cover to just before the TB.

So, a few things to discuss:
  • Would each vent from the valve covers require their own catch can or could they be "T'd" together to one can?
  • If you were to construct one, it would have to be made out of somthing that could withstand the temperature of the hot PCV gas.
  • Would the catch can require an air filter-type vent or should it be a closed system?
  • Would this be a worthwhile endeavor if you could make one for $50 in parts?

Any ideas?