problem update

viiiball

Well-Known LVC Member
Reaction score
O.k. guys......car idles fine no c/e light but smells rich out the exhaust......give it gas and hesitates and backfires then at about 2500-3000 it runs o.k., let off gas and idles o.k should i hear somthing? engine sounds like running smooth, i am going to replace the o2 and do the cat thing sometime this week, if that doesn't solve it then I will have to take it in to the shop and let them figure it out...I haven't checked the plugs cause I don't have too many tools(I am just starting out) and am borrowing em from my uncle as I need em and i am not sure exactly what i need to get the plugs out....let me know! also I am puzzled as to why no C/E light ? can anyone explain this?........again.....cam sensor changed chip out cleaned ran with and without chip , no change on all that.....starts fine ,idles seems low at first, but smooth no c/e light......rich smell at the rear.....tap gas and bogs and bacfires then clears up at about 2500-3000 rpm....then idles fine again....I am so f'n confused....WHAT COULD IT BE!!!! Chris are you about 100% positive on the o2 thing? Did your car have the same symptoms.....give me your story,also could some one put a brief o2 change info up or post a link with tool list.....thanks guys!!!!!! Jeff :Bang :Bang :Bang :Bang :Bang :Bang :mad:

dont do anything else till you change the plugs ,,, no matter whats wrong with it...fouled plugs can cause all those things , you may have fixed the problem and dont know it..

Do the 02's and get it over with. Make sure the car is cooled off completely or you'll be roasting your hands on the pipes. Gets very tight in there. Passenger side no biggee. Driver's side, whole nother story. I am also pretty sure that is your problem, unless you are using coolant, then it might be a head gasket.