Mark VIII newbie...what to look for when buying?

lincolncanoe

New LVC Member
Reaction score
Hi all.

Absolute newbie here.

Never been a land yatch kind of guy but Tyler Hoovie over at youtube made me a convert recently.

Anyways...in the process of looking at old Buicks, Lincolns, Mar Quis and the like ran across the Lincoln Mark VIII s.

So, what I am looking at right now locally is a 1997 Lincoln Mark VIII. 144k miles. Exterior and interior look reasonable condition wise. Under the hood looks clean and not hot-rodded/tampered with/fracked up.

First question. Whats a reasonable price for it from a private party (assuming no major issues).

Second question. What should I look out for if I go to inspect/test ride the car? Any specific possible gotcha's that cost big money to fix.

Third. What does it typically cost to fix stuff? And can most of that be done by a DIY (I'm pretty handy with most car repairs).

Four. I just want an older car for basic transportation that gets better gas mileage than a minivan/small suv cruising on the flat interstate here in florida. Not looking to fix up or hot rod or expecting luxury. Just don't want a money pit that I can't drive because it will cause a fortune to fix thing XYZ that goes wrong. Or given if thing XYZ DOES go wrong the car is still probably I can sell without too much of a loss to an enthusiast looking for a project car.

Thank you all very much for reading and any input!