Manual 5 speed owners?

Lincoln LS

1. randy02ls

randy02ls LVC Member

Looking to replace Dual mass Flywheel for 02 5 speed manual, Are there any options for aftermarket? Are there any NOS still around? any help, There is one listed on Ebay for $150 + Shipping. Is that a good deal? Thanks,

2. pragmatic

pragmatic Dedicated LVC Member

Has yours failed?

They are more prone to heat failure and Sachs says not to resurface theirs (not sure whose is in the LS). Sach also says you can change the clutch once without changing the flywheel.

http://understeer.com/pdf/dualmass.pdf

3. randy02ls

randy02ls LVC Member

No, I am getting ready for a clutch change and heard that these are extremely hard to find?

4. LSinYourLS

LSinYourLS Active LVC Member

They are discontinued from Ford, and NO dealers have any stock anywhere (I'm a Ford parts manager). However, you can still buy them new from Jaguar (for the v6 S-type), and they come with the Ford part number stamped on them! They're also about $800.

I just replaced the Transmission, clutch, flywheel, etc on mine, and thats the route I went.

5. randy02ls

randy02ls LVC Member

So the new one listed on Ebay for 150 is a good deal, what trans,etc did you replace with? as in what donor vehicle/stock from what? Thanks for all the help!

6. 86markviilsc

86markviilsc Active LVC Member

I was looking into using a solid flywheel from a 2.5L from the new Cougar and Contour, but I think the solid flywheel is too thin.

7. LSinYourLS

No donor vehicle. I replaced everything will all brand new parts from Ford (or Jaguar), including the transmission.

8. LSinYourLS

ALSO!!! make sure to get the correct flywheel! If memory serves there are 2 different versions out there, one with 10mm dowel pins, and one with 6 (or 8?!)mm dowel pins.

9. i_like_penguins

i_like_penguins New LVC Member