Hello from Canada, I'm new to Lincoln LS's, could use some help please

Ron Sircar

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
Hello all

I am hoping some of you may be able to help me out. I am new to working on Lincoln LS's, I am a long time ford fan, and although I have owned Lincoln Mark VII and Mark VIII's I have never owned a Lincoln LS till recently.

Anyways, on to my problem, a bit of trial and error on my part, I bought a 2003 Lincoln LS V6 base model (no select shift on the console) from a fellow Ford employee (I work at Oakville Assembly). The original owner had the car for several years without issues until it inexplicably would not start for him anymore. He had someone look at the car and tell him a module (I have since learned is called the FEM) was the issue. This person replaced the FEM with one from a junkyard car, and of course this did not correct the issue. When I purchased it, I was told all it needed was the module (FEM) programmed. I sent the car to a local ford dealership asking them to reprogram the module and reset/reprogram PATS on the car. Long story short, they failed to figure out what was going on nor were they able to reprogram the PATS claiming they could not communicate with the guage cluster (prob the original reason for no start condition). This dealership seemed more instrested in running up the labour bill than correcting the issue so I took the car back ($1200 later :( )