Do I need a new suspension?

luxferous

New LVC Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I am new here. so lately I have heard squeaking on the rear driver side wheel. (left bottom corner)
and noticed it squeaking hard when I get on bumpy roads or entering my parkway.

I checked the other corners by press down on them with my weight to hear them squeak. none but that left corner.
I am planning to replace that side but might replace all if needed.

it's a 2002 v6 LS.. any help would be appreciated!!

Probably the lower control arm. Look at the bushings on all of them (upper/lower front/back). You may find that all should be, but you may get away with just doing the one for another year or two. If you DIY, there's no real penalty to doing it a piece at a time for the rear suspension as no alignment is required. The exception is the rear toe links (bet you need them). You should do both of those at one time and get a 4-wheel alignment.

thanks Joe! I'm not a good mechanic at all, all I can do is pay for parts and labor :/ thanks anyway!

Here's my experience. My LS suffered from the same squeaking noise when I bought it. So I replaced the whole suspension system(including struts and springs), and upper control arms. But unfortunately the noise didn't go away with these replacement. Then I realized that it came from the worn out lower control arm bushing. Since I don't have any tools to compress the old bushing out as well as the new one pushed in, I just added some engine oil to the surface of bushing. That works for now, no squeaking noise at all.

I also bought some new bushing but still don't have time to replace them.

I had the same squeaking noise

I replaced both lower and upper control arms.
The funny part was I went a few years on mines before I replaced them and it had my rear end off by 3 degrees For all the parts I paid 600 bucks

Lower rear came from rock auto

Upper rear from Tasca she quiet as a church mouse on the rear

got the front part fixed.