Developing Problems on my '03 LS

Fatmac

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
Hello All, Starting to feel a little bummed about my purchase of my 03 LS. Almost wish I had my 95 MK VII back. Started off with the CEL on, cleaned the MAF sensor. It did have a lot of crud in it plus a bug wing. Cleared the code and CEL stayed off for about 150 miles. Now it is back on. Had the codes pulled and came up with P0420 and 430, both banks low pressure. I checked a couple of vac lines and didn't see anything. Disconnected the battery to clear the light and was driving it thru the cycle so I could get it tested and after 65 miles the light is back on and now I also have a hard shift/grab in the first tree gears. Once I get it on the highway and get up to speed it runs smooth. I am new to this model and still learning. My question is, is it possible that the COPs could be causing these problems? I have been a satisfied Lincoln driver as this is my third stepping up each time. From a MK VII to a MK VIII now to a LS.
I am looking for a lawyer now to see if I can get it fixed. In GA we have the Clean Air act that prohibits the sale of a car that doesn't pass emissions.
Thanks
Jack

Coils. Replace all of them as well as replace all spark plugs(properly gap).

After you replace all of the coils and all of plugs, you may find that your cats need to be replaced too (from being damaged by the bad coils going for too long).
After that, you may or may not need to replace the solenoid assembly in the transmission.

Trust us on the coils. You wont hurt anything just replaceing them. Get a set of 8 visteons on ebay. ...or is the 03 covered under warranty?

If you 03 have less than 100K miles it is the coils/spark plugs are covered by extended warranty.

But there has to be signs of oil in the plug wells for the coils to be done under warranty.