Comments on changing V8 Spark Plugs

Jim Henderson

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
Finally did the plugs on my 2004 LS V8 last weekend. I have NO CLUE if any of my comments apply to the V6.

let me say of the 20 or so cars I have owned/worked on, the LS is probably the biggest PITA to change plugs on. Only car that came close in the past was my 79 TA which required working thru the wheel well for a couple plugs. Got the wrist motor oil tatoos to prove it from slicing my wrists working on the TA.

Anyway, it took me about 3 hours not rushing this week end to change all the plugs. I am a reasonably capable shadetree mechanic, i.e. I rarely stab myself with a the screw driver. If you can change plugs on ANY other car, you can change the plugs on the LS, with some time, patience and a bunch of ratchet extensions etc.

Tools you will need are a 7mm socket and perhaps an open or boxend wrench preferably with an offset. You will need the 7mm to remove the coil screws(1 per plug) and the 6(8??) per side screws for the coil valve cover plates. The reason I say an offeset wrench is handy is that one or two screws are almost impossible to get a ratchet onto and since the screws sit down in a shallow detent, a flat wrench may not work. Ideally an offset ratcheting box wrench would be great, if it fit down into the detent. I mostly used my 1/4 inch ratchet set for the screws and my 3/8 for the plugs. I did use an air ratchet for fun on some screws escpecially since the screws take so long to do manually. But clearance is a problem on most screws.

Only other tools you will need are various assortments of extenders, universal joints, wobbly extenders etc to get at the screws and or plugs. Some require you you reach way down past stuff and some you will wish you had a very low profile ratchet since there are a couple screws where there is almost no room to get in there.