2006 LS Lost Power in 3rd gear

NWLS

New LVC Member
Reaction score
I have a 2006 LS that out of the blue lost 3rd gear. In D5 and D4 it will shift fine from 1rst to 2nd then when shifting into 3rd its a hard shift and once in I lose all power. If I give it gas in 3rd it will just rev high and not give any power. I can use the sport shift and skip 3rd all together and in 4rth it seems okay but not 100% as its pretty bogged down by the time I can get it in. Could this be a symptom of a failed solenoid? Ive had random hard shifts going from 2nd to 3rd for awhile. I haven't opened it up yet to see the fluid, but I will provide updates as I get farther into it. Just thought I would get the conversation going. 122k miles no fluid leaks or check lights.

Last edited:
I'm not an expert, but my guess is that its a worn intermediate servo piston and/or piston bore, or the piston could be broken. It's also possible that the servo problem resulted in a broken band. I fear that you are looking at a rebuild.

I'm not an expert, but my guess is that its a worn intermediate servo piston and/or piston bore, or the piston could be broken. It's also possible that the servo problem resulted in a broken band. I fear that you are looking at a rebuild.
I wouldn't be surprised if you are correct, and considering all the other possible problems a re-manufactured maybe the most cost efficient way to go anyways. I have been researching the re-manufactured 5r55s transmissions and it looks like many companies have built in allot of the fixes needed to keep the transmissions from having the common issues down the road. Any one have experience with any of these re-man transmissions?

Last edited:
... Any one have experience with any of these re-man transmissions?

Not what you are asking for I know, but ...