1984 Town Car project (new to forums)

partybarge1984

New LVC Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new here and I have a 1984 town car that I recently replaced the motor in between high school and work. I am new to throttle body set ups, I restore classic cars, so about the car it is idling rough and wont run if I let off of the gas going down the road and will not start, after it dies, for about a half hour or more. please help me I gotta get the car going I cant afford to drive my old 4x4 any more. Thanks for any help.

Did you check and see if you have fuel or spark when it shuts down. I had an 84 merc that used to do that all the time.

Check for vacuum leaks, that is usually a really big idle problem. check all the smog pump vacuum lines as well. Also consider cleaning the egr distributor filter.

How old are the plugs and wires?

Have you had the injectors cleaned?

Have you cleaned the intake air controller and the tubing that goes around the throttle?

That old computer takes alomg time to set its self up after being shut down awhile, doubt thats it, but just a heads up. Did you try holding the peddle to the floor when it won't start? If it starts then its likely the trottle position sensor. That Injection set-up is pretty known for flooding easy on start up and if the TPS is bad it makes it worse. Check the above mentioned of coarse.

The plugs are new, injectors are clean, smog pump and vacumm lines are tight, thats all I have checked. I haven't changed anything or made any adjustments after the engine swap, I kept my old intake and throttle body because the other intake would not work with my A/C pump. I have checked for proper placement on the vacumm lines many times but I may be wong,m people make mistakes. What are your thoughts on switching it over to a carb. setup, If that is a good idea what else would I need besides an intake, carb, fuel pump, and different throttle cable ends.

partybarge1984 said: