Actuator Solenoid Questions

00LincLS

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
I’ve got a 00 V8. Just got a used actuator since they are now discontinued. I know the easiest way to get to it and change it via the passenger side wheel. My questions are
  1. Should I just replace the actuator and add fluid that I’m going to lose?
  2. Is it best to just change all the fluid as I replace the fluid if the fan can be pushed by hand?
  3. Or should I replace the actuator then see if the fan moves before thinking about fluid change?

Please only helpful information and no smart a$$ remarks. This is my first time changing this piece and need all the help I can get. Thanks in advance

Last edited:
I have the 01V6 and have changed the actuator twice now. What I would do if the fluid is over 1 year old is find a way to suck it out of the reserviour. I use a hand drill pump, cheap effective, pump it right into a old plastic bottle. There was clearance to come in from the rear of the pump with a socket to remove the actuator. Replaced actuator refilled reserviour. Started engine and watched the fan. I had no need to hand pump the fan blades. Worked without a problem, no vapor lock or other issues. I change the fluid every year.

I have the 01V6 and have changed the actuator twice now. What I would do if the fluid is over 1 year old is find a way to suck it out of the reserviour. I use a hand drill pump, cheap effective, pump it right into a old plastic bottle. There was clearance to come in from the rear of the pump with a socket to remove the actuator. Replaced actuator refilled reserviour. Started engine and watched the fan. I had no need to hand pump the fan blades. Worked without a problem, no vapor lock or other issues. I change the fluid every year.