Tire Road Noise

lifer@writeme.com

LVC Member
Reaction score
Got a beautiful 2004 LS V8 Ultimate in Triple White with every goodie known to man. On certain roads it is so quiet it wooshes down the road, even at 80-90 mph. No engine noise, no wind noise, so I know this can be a quiet car. However, on most concrete and asphalt roads there is a roar from the tire noise. As a shell-shocked Nam vet, I perfer quiet on the road.

Currently there seems to be only four tires available. The Michelin Pilot Sport A/S 235/509WR17, Goodyear Eagle RS-A 235/50VR17, Bridgestone Turanza LS-Z 235/50ZR17, and the Firestone Firehawk LH 235/50VR17. Any recommendations to make this car maintain the superb handling and yet be more quiet?

lifer@writeme.com said:
Got a beautiful 2004 LS V8 Ultimate in Triple White with every goodie known to man. On certain roads it is so quiet it wooshes down the road, even at 80-90 mph. No engine noise, no wind noise, so I know this can be a quiet car. However, on most concrete and asphalt roads there is a roar from the tire noise. As a shell-shocked Nam vet, I perfer quiet on the road.

Currently there seems to be only four tires available. The Michelin Pilot Sport A/S 235/509WR17, Goodyear Eagle RS-A 235/50VR17, Bridgestone Turanza LS-Z 235/50ZR17, and the Firestone Firehawk LH 235/50VR17. Any recommendations to make this car maintain the superb handling and yet be more quiet?

Try a 245/24/17 size. That is a factory approved optional size. There are also many tires available in that size. I'm running 245/24/17 Michelin Pilot Sport A/S on my LS, and Kumho ASX 255/55/16 on my wife's. Mine are quieter, but her's are much quieter than the stock Continentals.

Baby needs a quiet quad of shoes.

LS4me said: