ohh no!!... another newbie....

Santo

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this... I'm a Cpl of Marines who just got back from Iraq... I've got a 93 Mark 8 that I can't wait to start working on... I know i overpaid for the car considering the condition that it was in, but needed the car before I got deployed... I've got a camera and will update everyone here on the progress...

Welcome back, marine! Hope all your work on the car goes well.

Thank you all... I've worked in a custom bodyshop for about a third of my life... so hope I can be of help...

Welcom Home... We're greatful for your service... THANK YOU!

:W
TO
:V​

I've actually got a body/paint question for you... I had a fender job done and the body shop that did it didn't have many layers of paper on the hood when they sprayed the car... The finish on the hood feels rough... I guess its from the wet paint that was absorbed through the paper...
Can that be buffed out? Or do I need the hood resprayed???
Actually could use a re-spray, if so how much should that run me??

it might be one of two things... either somehow overspray got to the hood... or the paper that they used wasn't the kind of paper that is supposed to be used in a spraybooth... if it is overspray then it can be buffed out... however if they didn't use that paper then the chemicals in the paint mixture soaked through the paper to the paint... you might get away with buffing it out but that would depend on how deep the chemicals went...

Santo said:
it might be one of two things... either somehow overspray got to the hood... or the paper that they used wasn't the kind of paper that is supposed to be used in a spraybooth... if it is overspray then it can be buffed out... however if they didn't use that paper then the chemicals in the paint mixture soaked through the paper to the paint... you might get away with buffing it out but that would depend on how deep the chemicals went...