2001 Alpine CDX6 Audiophile - Looking for all information possible!

drslinky

New LVC Member
Reaction score
After Superstorm Sandy, I ended up buying a little old lady's 2001 LS v6 for a steal. New to the car, after driving 4th gen F-bodies for over 12 years.

Little old lady kept everything, including the window stickers. Says I have the Alpine Audiophile system (575.00) and CD-6 In Dash Changer (605.00). The goes with what I've seen so far. Speaker in all 4 doors, amp and 2 woofers mounted to the deck in the trunk, 2 small speakers on the center console.

Of course, I now have a non-functional CD changer. The credit card trick worked a few times, but now it's just CD ERROR no matter what I do. So it's time to replace the head unit. Not such a bad idea, seeing as I have a lifetime SiriusXM subscription that I haven't been able to use since the storm, and I'd really like a head unit with USB options.

From what little I was able to learn from hours of Googling, swapping components for this system isn't always easy. I can't even manage to find any full component specs or diagrams. I went to BestBuy and picked up a Metro 70-5519 wire harness, figuring I can can use it to hook up an older aftermarket head unit, just to see what works and what doesn't work by simply using the wiring harness. Seemed like the logical first step in troubleshooting.

Ideally, I'd like to replace components in phases. For now, just a new head unit that's SiriusXM compatible. If needed, I'll replace speakers, amps, etc., later, as needed. Seriously leaning towards the Pioneer AVH-X series, probably the AVH-X3500BHS or the AVH-X5500BHS.

Does anybody have a hoard of resources about this audio system? Diagrams, specifications, basically anything and everything I'd need to know about what I can do, can't do, and what I'd have to hack, to replace the stock head unit with an aftermarket one?

Thanks in advance!