Why converting water won't increase your MPG

Justin00LS

Well-Known LVC Member
Reaction score
I've had two friends tell me they are buying parts to make HHO generators for their cars to boost their MPG. One guy is already making HHO bubbles, just like they do on youtube. Now I am no expert, however I am an Electrical Engr student at the University of Kentucky, and here is what I told them...

Converting water into combustible gas can be done using electricity, but using the vehicle’s own electrical energy to convert water is simply a closed system that uses more energy, thus more gas.

The basic laws of thermodynamics tell us that 1 mole of burning hydrogen produces a fixed amount of energy: 241.8 kJ. Thermodynamics also tells us that the same amount of energy is required to split 1 mole of hydrogen out of water: 241.8 kJ.

If everything involved in the closed system(no outside source of power) was 100% efficient, the absolute best one can do in the closed system is break even. The reality is that internal combustion engines are only about 30% efficient, so for every 100kJ of energy one puts put in, 30KJ go into pushing the car forward, and 70KJ go into heat. Then one has the inefficiency of the alternator, the resistance in the wires between the alternator and the electrolysis tank, heat losses through the bearings in the alternator, transmission driveline losses, etc…

All said and done, for the 241KJ one put into electrolysis, they will lose most of it when it comes to burning it again. This is not just an opinion; this is simple chemistry and thermodynamics that has been 100% proved through theory and experimentation.

you dont get 1.21 jiggawatts???? :) :) I mean all you need is a bolt of lightning!