My Rebuild Project - DJG 93 Mark VIII

jbelcourt

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
So, I've been posting here for a couple months now since I came into my Mark. Quick back story:

My little brother purchased the car back in March 2013 and shortly after his work dropped his hours a lot. He wasn't able to keep up with the cost of gas in this beast, and I had two cars at the time already when he decided to get rid of it for something more economical. He had actually called a scrap yard to come pick it up and the guy stood him up and never showed. The next day, the fuel pump on my DD went out when I was headed over to visit my mom. He had the scrap yard headed over again that day and he ended up offering the Mark to me for free. We turned the tow truck driver away (that was interesting, he tried saying we HAD to give him the car and tried hooking up without paying my brother or anything and my brother ended up flashing a gun at him so he'd leave). I came into possession of the car at the end of August 2013.

She was rough. Seats were torn to hell. Looked like a bear got attracted to food and locked inside the car. Headlights were absolutely horrid. The night I drove it home, I was literally scared because I couldn't see with the lights on. To top that off, the rear view mirror was missing and the driver side mirror had the "auto dim" broke so I could only see out of half of that. Oh but when I hit the gas for the first time, I fell in love with her and decided I had big plans for her. The next weekend, I found you guys on here and things REALLY opened up.

Purchased a parts 96 LSC, swapped interior, 9-hours spent restoring LSC headlights, installed those, purchased Octi's from a JY, purchased the caps for them from Dan, installed chrome Conti handles, installed tint (haven't done rear window yet), done numerous routine maintenance jobs and such, etc etc etc.