New battery won't start car

n8bachelor

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm having trouble starting my car. I know these are known for some electrical gremlins but this is my first time dealing with them. My last LS was relatively error free for 100k.

First the background:
  • 2006 Lincoln LS with under 50,000 miles. Has aftermarket head unit but factory amps and speakers. Head unit installed in summer by me. Rear sub amp removed due to blown deck speakers.
  • DCCV is malfunctioning and the car is blowing hot anytime the HVAC is on, no matter the settings. I have the part but not the time/tools to fix it.
  • Old battery estimated at 4-5 year old was leaving me stranded inconsistently. Jumped car 10-15 times in the past 3 months.
  • Previous owner installed a keyed switch on battery ground wire as a "battery saver" because he rarely drove the car. I used it a few times when I guessed the battery would leave me stranded. Worked most of the time.

Then the story:
  • Today, I replaced the battery with an X2Power AGM Battery from Batteries Plus.
  • Installed the battery and tried to start the car, dim interior lights and no start. Tested with volt meter and it read under 10v while connected. Disconnected and it was reading 11.6ish Weird. Rechecked the terminal connections, seems fine.
  • Jumped the car and drove 10+ miles at highway speed with no accessories on to try to charge it up a little. Parked the car at 2:00 back at work.
  • Left work at 6:00 and had to get a jump to start the car. Parked at home and took some more readings with the meter.

Car running:
9M00FSi.jpg

Car engine off @6:14:
uazdYMF.jpg

Car engine off @6:15:
WCuiTEw.jpg

Battery disconnected from car:
3rlZnV6.jpg