Lincoln LS /eclipse 5435 install wiring questions..radio

Lincoln LS

  1. immusicman

    immusicman LVC Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Hunt
    Ok. I am looking to install an eclipse AVN 5435 in my 2002 lincoln LS. Before I start, I would like someone who has done this installation or any aftermarket information to shed some light on the wiring issues. Can this unit be installed and keep the factory speakers and amplification? According to my schematic, it shows 4 main speakers being powered directly from the headunit..then a subwoofer amp for the subs and a center imaging amp for center speakers. Is it possible to use ALL of the original amps and speakers? If so, what is involved in doing that? Also, on the schematic of the original system, the wires to the speakers are shown without a + or - so how do we determine which way to phase the speaker to the headunit? Any information from anyone that knows about this would be most helpful. I know I can handle the install, just want details before I start. Thanks!
     
  2. SilverLS

    SilverLS Dedicated LVC Member

    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Location:
    Winter Park (near Orlando)
    Easiest way is to get the plug from a local stereo install shop and plug it into the factory plug and follow the wires from the new plug IE the speakers will be green+ green and black- grey+ grey and black- white+ white and black - purple+ purple and black - so that will give you the speaker wires as far as I understand All of the factory stuff will still work (mine still does atleast I have a Audiovox indash and the front speakers I put new ones in and ran them to an amp so my rear are still factory and they sound just like the day i purchase the car good luck and post some pics of the setup
     
  3. Phazer1000

    Phazer1000 LVC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Harrisburg

    Immusicman,

    I might be able to shed a little light on this subject for you, as I do this for a living. First off the AVN-5435 is a double DIN radio and will not fit. The max size radio is a 1.5, and since there are very few 1.5 din radio’s I would suggest looking for a single din radio (99% of all radios are single din). There are many single din radios that are flip out screens, Kenwood, Alpine and Pioneer are just a few good ones. Scosche and Metra make an adapter kit for the aftermarket single din radios and installation is quite straight forward as far as installing the actual unit. You can obtain a Ford Premium Harness at any stereo shop; it will have 3 harnesses in the package. There will be a large harness with all the speakers, power, ground, illumination and remote turn on wires, a harness with a power antenna and a (mute – not used) and another harness for the subs. The sub harness has white and grey wires along with a remote turn on wire. You can hook both whites and grays together in both harnesses, then splice them into the same wires that come from the new source unit you bought. It is rather straight forward. As for knowing what is + and -, the wires in the harness (the ford premium and the source unit harness) with a black stripe are always negative. So when you are done wiring all 3 new ford premium harnesses to the new source unit wiring harness, all colors should match up, if something does not match (say a red hooked to a black – very bad) you probably did it wrong and will blow a fuse………..or worse. So make sure they all match and you will be good to rock! Wire up everything THEN plug it into the car, that way you are not wiring up live wires and NEVER cut the car harness……NEVER.
    Any more questions hit me up anytime. Here are a few pics to help out

    Removal Instructions
    *Note* remove all CDs from in dash changer before installation. Do not tilt, drop or bump in dash CD changer as major failure will occur.

    Pry out AC vents and disconnect harness
    Pull out rear center AC vents
    Pull up on the rear of the center console and pull away
    Disconnect any harnesses
    Remove wood grain around ash tray CAREFULLY, it just snaps out
    Remove two bolts holding in ash tray and remove ash tray, disconnect any harnesses
    Remove 4 bolts securing radio and remove. Disconnect all harnesses



    Jeremiah

    lnlss00dash01.jpg

    lnlss00dash02.jpg

    lnlss00dash03.jpg
     
  4. The Heckler

    The Heckler LVC Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    socal
    I hate to burst you bubble Phazer1000 but The radio is a double din and it will fit a double din. How long have you been doing this? Here is my install of that exact radio.
    Let me know if you got any questions.
    truckcopy.gif
     
  5. Phazer1000

    Phazer1000 LVC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Harrisburg
    The Heckler,

    Wow, great install! I was not aware that someone make a double din kit for the LS. I know that it is large enough for a double din, I just did not know that there was a kit for it! Let us know where you got that kit because now my interest are sparked for a double din indash!

    Jeremiah
     
  6. The Heckler

    The Heckler LVC Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    socal
    Unfortunatly the kit has to be made using the stock radio faceplate. I wish I could have bought the kit to save me the work.
     
  7. Phazer1000

    Phazer1000 LVC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Harrisburg

    I ordered the kit for the LS about 3 days ago as we don't stock it in house due to the lack of demand, so it should arrive shortly. It is only for a single din, with a pocket, but i am going to see if i can fabricate a double din radio in it. I will let you guys know how it goes.

    Jeremiah
     
  8. 2002 LS V8

    2002 LS V8 Active LVC Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Location:
    College Park
    Heckler you should start making them and selling them. I would sure as hell buy one from you. I really want to install that unit but I really can't make anything like that.
     
  9. immusicman

    immusicman LVC Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Hunt
    Thanks Jerimiah

     
  10. The Heckler

    The Heckler LVC Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    socal
    Here you go inmusicman
    http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=265-790
    this should be it, I dont think they changed the plug untill 03.

    As for making a kit to sell, I thought about it. The only problem is finding a bunch of lincoln ls stereos and stock metal brackets. By the way i'm really in need of some of those brackets.
     
  11. Phazer1000

    Phazer1000 LVC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Harrisburg
     
  12. immusicman

    immusicman LVC Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Hunt
    Thanks again.

    Thanks for all the help. I really appreciate the fact that you are going out of your way to get me the information. It sure makes it easier. The kit you spoke of, are you speaking of an installation kit for Double din? I was going to fabricate my front..but if there is a kit..I would rather have that. Have a good day. john
     
  13. LSinOKC

    LSinOKC LVC Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    Some one posted specs for the Eclipse stating the dvd wouldn't function while
    in motion. Is this correct??? If so is there a code to bypass this or something to trick it into thinking the car is not in motion. How does it Know? gps? Magic?
    Also are there video outputs to run some rear monitors?
     
  14. Phazer1000

    Phazer1000 LVC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Harrisburg
    I got the kit today and it looks good, although it has a textured surface and the rest of the trim is smooth so it may look a little funny. I have a few pics to help explain some items. In one or two of the pics you can see the cage for the double din radio next to the kit. You will notice that it is as large if not a hair bigger then the kit. I believe that you may have to use a combination of the original factory brackets and the new kit as a face plate to make a double din radio fit, thus eliminating the cage.
    As for not playing DVDs while driving, that is correct. The player either looks for an e-brake ground (e-brake must be on to watch movies) and or it may have to be hooked into the vehicle speed sensor. Some times it is a combo of both, either way it is a pretty steep fine if you get caught driving and watching a movie. Most radios of this nature have video outputs to run extra monitors.

    Jeremiah

    IMG_1731_1.JPG

    IMG_1732_1.JPG

    IMG_1733_1.JPG

    IMG_1734_1.JPG

    IMG_1735_1.JPG

    IMG_1737_1.JPG

    IMG_1739_1.JPG

    IMG_1740_1.JPG

    IMG_1741_1.JPG

    IMG_1742_1.JPG

    IMG_1748_1.JPG
     
  15. Phazer1000

    Phazer1000 LVC Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Location:
    Harrisburg
    more.........

    IMG_1745_1.JPG

    IMG_1746_1.JPG
     
  16. The Heckler

    The Heckler LVC Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    socal
    Eclipse need a grounded wire thats all the pioneer has to be hooked up correctly to function right it uses a combination ways to make sure you did not try to bypass it. In my opinion DONT BYPASS IT. It is way to dangerous to you and other people on the road. Not to mention the crazy fines.
     
  17. immusicman

    immusicman LVC Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Hunt
    Steering wheel controls

    Thanks for all the help guys. I know that pac makes an infrared controller designed to allow you to use your existing steering wheel controls..i.e. volume, etc. According to what I have read, you will have to have a remote control for your headunit to program the controller. The AVN5495 by eclipse, doesn't come with it. It says in the promo, it is optional..and nobody seems to know where to get it or how much is it? Any ideas? Thanks. P.S. what did you do heckler?
     
  18. The Heckler

    The Heckler LVC Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    socal
    We have some at the shop i work at, I think they run about thirty dollars.
     
  19. immusicman

    immusicman LVC Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Hunt
    remote

    Heckler, can you check and see if you have the rc105 remote? I don't know if the 5435 remote will work with the 5495 or not. RC105 is the model for the 5495. I would like to find a used one to buy. I only need it long enough to program my steering wheel buttons. thanks.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.