Going in Limp home mode home but no apparent codes related to it...

DaveLS

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I own a 2004 Lincoln ls and in the past days my car went into the limp home mode 2-3 times which was enough to piss me off heavy. I also noticed that every time I've went into that limp home mode it was after 9 o'clock pm when the temperature is lower and it happened almost just as soon as I started my car and pulled off. ( I don't know if it could make a difference. ) So my friend came threw yesterday with his scanner to see what is causing the limp home mode to go on. Three codes appeared:

p2136 - Throttle Actuator Control System - Forced Limited Power. I've red a little bit on this codes and it seems to be related to the transmission and therefore not likely the be related to my problem. (I am not an expert in mechanics but that's my opinion.)

p0430 - Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold Bank 2. The definition pretty much say what the problem all about. Still not the cause of my problem with the limp home mode going on in my opinion.

c1236 - Speed Wheel Left Rear Input Signal Missing. I had the abs/traction control light going on and off for more than a week but had no major issues with that.

SO, with all this being said, I don't have a clue what could cause the limp home mode to go on and that's why I am asking you guys if you would have a clue of what could cause this. Thanks for your help !!

Wait, you've got the codes right there.

P2136 - ETC failsafe - this is the "limp home mode." It's not at all related to the transmission!
C1236 - Note that the ETC uses info from the ABS wheel speed sensors. It's actually possible that this is what is causing failsafe.