2002 Lincoln LS V8 Cranks but Won't Start

moe

LVC Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
Let me start off by saying, I am new to troubleshooting car problems. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I have a 2002 Lincoln LS V8 that has been sitting steady in a garage for about a year. Every few weeks, I've been starting it up and letting it run for a few minutes. Occasionally, I wait too long and the battery dies. After a quick charge with a battery charger, it starts up fine.

Last week, I started it up with no problems. No battery charge was needed. One week later, the engine cranks but it will not turn over.

I read something about checking the Idle Air Control Valve. Is this a good place to start for a newbie? Is there some other things I should be checking for this situation?

Many Thanks! :)

IAC Valve symptoms would be low RPM's, stalling/dying at an idle. Give it a proper jump and see if that works.

Some other things to check:
- is there fuel in the tank? :D
- do you hear fuel pump whine when turning key on but before turning the engine over?

Here's another quick check for you.

Unplug the MAF sensor and see if it will start and run then. If it will, the MAF is bad or dirty or you have a big intake air leak. (This is a long shot.)

Also, make sure the battery is fully charged. If the fuel pump is marginal, it may not run even though there is enough for the starter to run. (Believe it or not, I have seen this happen.)

Here's another quick check for you.

Unplug the MAF sensor and see if it will start and run then. If it will, the MAF is bad or dirty or you have a big intake air leak. (This is a long shot.)

Also, make sure the battery is fully charged. If the fuel pump is marginal, it may not run even though there is enough for the starter to run. (Believe it or not, I have seen this happen.)

Isn't this where you would normally ask what the PATS light is doing? :D

Are you thinking the trunk-mounted fuel pump fuses Stumpie?