17x9 Cobra R's rubbing and acting weird.

MediumD

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
I know my way around a car, but I'm not a wheel expert. So I took the 17x9 Cobra R's off my TBird and installed them on my Mark VIII. I like the way they look way better on the Mark, but I'm having some problems...

First, they never rubbed on my TBird, but on the Mark they're hitting just below the upper control arm - I haven't been able to look yet, but have any of you had the same problem? Am I going to have enough material to clearance it?

The other problem is that, although I torqued them to 100ft.lbs. in the correct pattern, they seem to want to steer me in directions I didn't intend to go. It's like I have really worn out tie rod ends or something, I'm experiencing massive bump steer. Do I need some hub-centric rings, or what would be the reason for/solution to this problem? Could it be a tire related problem, despite the fact I'm not experiencing vibrations?

check your lower ball joints, as well as your tie rod ends. ANY movement up and down = replace. that may be your wandering. might also try switching your wheels side to side. doesnt usually cause wandering but you may have a tire pull.

If you need some spacers I have 4 6.5mm ones that should work out for you. PM me... I have no use for them!

check your lower ball joints, as well as your tie rod ends. ANY movement up and down = replace. that may be your wandering. might also try switching your wheels side to side. doesnt usually cause wandering but you may have a tire pull.

Thing is, it's not a suspension problem. It never did this until these wheels were put on. I did a quick check of the front suspension when I last did the brakes, no excessive play..