Overheating Root Cause

Wabel

LVC Member
Reaction score
I finished working on my 2004 V8 overheating problem a few days ago and think the root cause is worth sharing.

The following is based on OEM parts. I am a novice so I hope this makes sense.

Inside the thermostat housing the thermostat pin inserts into a hole that is on top of a column which is part of the thermostat housing mold. This column is about 1" tall. With the thermostat installed and fully closed about 1/2" of the pin is visible and the remaining 1" or so is pushed up inside the thermostat. When the thermostat opens the stopper pulls back exposing more of the pin. When the thermostat is fully open the entire pin is visible so it's open about 1".

Taking a close look at the old housing, with the thermostat still installed, I noticed that the column was only about 1/4" tall. At first I thought the new housing was the wrong part so I called a Lincoln dealer and verified that what I had was indeed the correct part.

The column must have crumbled in on itself losing about 3/4"!

With the thermostat installed and fully closed about 1 1/4" of the pin is visible with only about 1/4" pushed up inside the thermostat. This means when fully open the thermostat could only open about 1/4" and was restricting coolant flow.

My Theory:
Over time the column crumbles getting shorter and shorter. At first the car may not overheat but runs hotter and pressure builds much higher than normal. Under these conditions time takes a greater toll on the cooling system and eventually leads to the failure of the remaining plastic cooling parts.

So if your car is running too hot and/or is overheating or the cooling fan is running at higher speeds but there are no signs of a coolant leak and you have bled the system properly then consider checking inside the thermostat housing.