Do your LS V8 brakes suck too?

Barwick

Well-Known LVC Member
Reaction score
I've been driving this puppy around for a while (2000 LS V8 sport package), and I don't even think it's just mine, because I test drove another (I think an '02) and it did the same thing...

Basically, the brakes need a TON of pedal force and pedal travel to make an effective stop. I mean, under normal conditions they're fine, but in event of a crazed idiot in an SUV doing something stupid in front of me, I'd like to be able to stop. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem that these brakes are capable of stopping in short distances, but maybe it just feels that way to me...

Barwick said:
I've been driving this puppy around for a while (2000 LS V8 sport package), and I don't even think it's just mine, because I test drove another (I think an '02) and it did the same thing...

Basically, the brakes need a TON of pedal force and pedal travel to make an effective stop. I mean, under normal conditions they're fine, but in event of a crazed idiot in an SUV doing something stupid in front of me, I'd like to be able to stop. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem that these brakes are capable of stopping in short distances, but maybe it just feels that way to me...

Naah, mine are great. Only needed to make one emergency stop and they were up to the task! Motot trend says 121- 127 feet stops from 60 mph. 03 Premium Sport. Lincolnlov

You can do one of several things to your LS to improve braking. They are:

1. Change the brake pads. I ran the Porterfield brake pads for quite some time and really liked them. They took a little heat to perform but were much better than the stock pads. Pricing is around $150 for a complete set of pads for front and back.

2. Couple the pads with some vented calipers. Pricing around $250 a set.